Scones

What is it about scones?  They are such a basic food-stuff and they often aren’t very good, yet they are so popular.

Well, I have a scone recipe.  It was given to me by my friend, Chris Mc.  It is a bit of a cheat recipe (no rubbing in the butter), but, unlike any other cheat recipe I have tried, it works.

Friends even request that I make a batch for bring-a-plate deals.  I have also been known to make a rough batch based on approximately 1 cup of flour when we have run out of bread for lunch.

Here it is:
Neverfail scone recipe

3 cups self raising flour

1tb melted butter
1 tsp salt
3/4 – 1 cup milk

Add melted butter to milk and pour over dry ingredients. Mix together then press onto floured board and cut into scone shapes.
Bake in mod oven (180 deg C)  for 10-15 minutes. (I usually brush mine with milk before cooking)

Notes:

 Be sure to preheat the oven.  Put your trays in the oven while it is preheating to get nice and hot.

Do not grease the trays.  Instead sprinkle them lightly with flour before putting the scones on them.

Place the scones close together, but not touching on the tray.  This allows them to expand sideways slightly before supporting each other to rise up.

Do NOT add melted butter to cold milk and then let it stand while you are preparing other things.  The butter will reset.  This is probably obvious to anyone who does not have baby-brain.  (I was first given this recipe when I was pregnat with Chicken).

Some alternatives:

I have made 1½ times this recipe and split it into two.  To one half I added approximately 1 cup of grated cheese and a pinch each of mustard powder and paprika.  To the other I added approximately 1+ cups of chopped dried dates.

 Pumpkin scones:  Add approximately 1 cup of mashed pumpkin.  Decrease the milk to about 1/3 to 1/2 of a cup.  Add a teaspoon of nutmeg.

I have made a double batch of the pumpkin scones for mothers’ group tomorrow.  Hopefully they will still be yummy then!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

