Week 4 – Seeds!!

Possum is 4 years 3 months

Chicken is 2 years 1 month

This week we based our Home School fun on the book, Growing Vegetable Soup by Lois Ehlert.  And didn’t the boys just love this one!

I couldn’t read this book to them often enough.  It was one of those books that as soon as you finish reading it they just flip it back to the front and ask you to read it again.

I really was surprised.  I bought this book online after reading many recommendations about it.  However, when it arrived, I just couldn’t see the appeal myself.  It seemed harmless enough, and full of bright pictures, but it just didn’t really grab me.  Obviously I am not the target audience!

We had lots of fun with seeds.  The best fun of all was the sensory table.  (In summer it is a water table, but I try to do some different things with it sometimes.)  I filled it with birdseed, anticipating the fun the boys would have.  

I surprised myself, too, because I had to just keep running my hands through it, it felt so good.

I also figured it would be an easy clean thing.  We live in an area with lots of birds – sulfur crested cockatoos, miners, rosellas, parakeets, king parrots, magpies, kookaburras – so I figured that any that fell on the ground would be eaten.  Ha, ha!  Wrong!  For some reason the birds will only eat out of our front yard and not our back yard.

I had planned some formal activities like seed counts and seed sorts, but the boys did all of this naturally in their play, so I figured why labour the point?

Of course, we did also make some super yummy vegetable soup.  I didn’t get any pictures of that – too busy trying to control the chaos!  But my two little sous-chefs loved it.  Chicken keeps asking me to make more.

I do wonder ‘though, if the distraction they caused when I was measuring in the noodles was stage managed…

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

