My Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Here is my Pumpkin Pie recipe.  It is a hybrid of several recipes that I found on the internet.  It was shown in these posts – here and here.

FOR THE FILLING:

2 eggs

55 g (1/4 cup) brown sugar

2 tablespoons maple syrup

250 g (1 cup) cooked mashed pumpkin (about 350g uncooked) <- I always roast my big chunk of pumpkin whole, wrapped in foil, in a slow oven until very soft.  Then I scoop out the seeds.  The flesh is nice and mushy, like mashed pumpkin only yummier!

125 ml (1/2 cup) cream

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

½ teaspoon of ground ginger

1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

½ teaspoon salt <- I can’t remember if I added this or not

FOR THE PASTRY:

I used a Pampas pastry case, thawed.

Blind bake the pastry case for about 10 minutes – I didn’t even put any weights in it.

To make the filling, beat eggs, sugar and maple syrup in a small bowl with electric beaters until thick. Stir in the pumpkin, cream and spices.

Pour filling into pastry case; bake in moderate oven for about 40 minutes or until filling is set; cool.

I served this with "Maple Cream" – cream and a slurp of maple syrup, whipped together.  Yum, yum.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

