I needed this this morning

Last year I began reading the Bible through from Genesis to Revelation.  I was following a programme, but I found it moved too quickly for me.  There were times were I wanted to read more, but mostly, I couldn’t read that much in a day and still have pondering time.

Well, the project is still slowly underway.  Unfortunately, these days, with so many babies sleeping in our bed I don’t get much reading time (or sleeping time for that matter 😉 ) – I always find that I read best in bed.

Well, this morning, despite two littles awake and in action before 6am, I managed a pseudo lie-in (thank you Dora and Wiggles) and I also got some reading time.

I came across this wonderful passage:

“Sing praise to the Lord; tell the wonderful things he has done.  Be glad that we belong to him; let all who worship him rejoice!”  1 Chronicles 16:9-10

Well now, isn’t that just a beautiful way to start the day, and indeed, a long weekend?

But it gets better.  A bit further I found this:

“Save us, O God our Saviour; gather us together; rescue us from the nations, so that we might be thankful”   1 Chronicles 16:35

A-ha!  Now that is what I needed.  I have been really struggling, struggling, struggling lately.  Struggling with the real and imagined demands of my life as a Mum to three littles, a child with a sick Mumma myself, a sister with a sick sister, a grumpy wife to a tired DH and, well, just everything.

But I will be rescued.  I AM rescued, if I will just let it happen.  I am not made for this world, but for the next (and so are you!) so I don’t need to be bogged down, I just need to do what God has called me to do.  Now.  Today.

Excellent news!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

