Halloween Part 1 – The Food

Possum is 5 years 5 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 3 months

Little Princess is 9 months

Halloween is not a big deal here, but as I have said before, I like to mark the passage of the year with various festivals and events, even if only in a small way. 

This year, as well as our tiny pumpkin pots we hang in the window, and the big pumpkin bowl of lollies on the table we also bought a really cute purple windsock with bats on it.

Of course, there were books to read, too, but here are some the of the goodies that we baked, first.

 IMG_1746

Whoopie Pies

The recipe is inspired from here.

 IMG_1747

Or how about a cobwebby chocolate-pumpkin cheescake?  (I ran out of time to make the crunchy chocolate spiders.) Adapted from here

Oooo!  What’s that peeping in the oven?  Eeek!  They are ghostly meringues!

IMG_1752IMG_1751

(Inspiration here)

Of course, we did have some books to go along with all the food.  The first one is this:

Five Little Pumpkins

I really enjoyed this.  It is the American rhyme about the Five Little Pumpkins.  DH had never heard of it before, so he thought the book was a little silly – looking for the story – until we got to the end.  He then re-read it to the kids and it was lots more fun.

I managed to pick this book up in a $5- sale, and to be honest, I wouldn’t have bothered with a Halloween book otherwise, but I do like it.

Night Animals: Level 1

We read this book again, too.  (I haven’t been able to find it available at any of my usual sources.  I bought it second hand on a home-schooling swap site.)

This book is more Northern Hemisphere oriented (aren’t they all?) but we included discussion about some of our local nocturnal animals (we have two different kinds of possums, a bandicoot, bats etc that visit our yard in the night time.  Not bad for a city, eh?)  Halloween always seems like a good time to talk about these critters.

However, I think that our absolute favourite is this one:

The Pumpkin Patch Parable: The Parable Series

This was one of those books that I had read about other families using, but I had never actually seen it myself.  I wasn’t sure what it would be like, but when it arrived via the postman, I was pleasantly surprised.

Like the previous book, it is not a Halloween book, but it fits nicely with the season, even if pumpkins aren’t really in season here!  It is a lovely story, and each double page spread includes a Bible quotation.  I will definitely be looking at the other books in this series.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

