Pre Advent 2011 – Frost?

Possum is 5 years 6 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 4 months

Little Princess is 10 months

 

“Hey, Daddy!  Didn’t it snow at your office?  Look, it snowed here!”

 

If you hadn’t worked it out by now, we don’t live in the Northern Hemisphere.  It doesn’t snow here, not even in winter, and definitely not in summer, which is when Christmas is.

So how do you get that Christmas Carol feel to your home?  Apart from the hot roast on Christmas Day, of course.  Well, you frost the windows!

IMG_1895

I read about this idea here.  Actually, it is really easy.

Honestly, I love growing crystals.  I remember my Dad setting up a jar with a string tied to a pencil and some really salty water in it.  It sat on the laundry window sill for a week growing bigger and bigger.

I was hooked.

And this is a nice way for the boys to start.

 

Firstly, I got the boys to join me in cleaning the windows.  The only ones we didn’t do were the ones in my room (Little Princess was asleep) and the kitchen windows (why didn’t we do the kitchen windows again?  They are awful!)

We mixed up our crystal mix and sloshed it on the windows.  The boys were rubbing it on pretty thinly, and I wasn’t sure if that would work or not.  I also wondered if there would be anything to seed the crystals, having just cleaned the windows (oops.)

The “recipe” said they take 20 minutes to develop.  20 minutes came and went.  After about an hour we started to see some effect.  It took several hours to fully develop, but they are very, very beautiful.  I am guessing that 20 minutes doesn’t apply to a day in the high 30s with almost 100% humidity.

Unfortunately, as they have formed on glass, they are almost impossible to photograph.  They really are beautiful and I encourage you to try this yourself just so you can see how gorgeous they are.  Here are a couple of shots that try to capture the beauty.

IMG_1866

(Yes, that humidity was followed with MORE rain.)

 

IMG_1901

 

 

This blog entry is linked to the Crafts at:

image[4]

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Pre Advent 2011 – Frost?”

  1. Sam-O Says:

    Noice.

    Geez I must be the worst hum bug Mum in the world…

  2. Nashie Says:

    That’s okay, my Dearest Grinch-Friend. You might wake up one morning and find we have done your windows, too 😉

  3. beth Says:

    Cute idea! I also wanted to invite you to link up at TGIF LInky Party – http://livinglifeintentionally.blogspot.com/search/label/Linkey%20Parties
    Beth =-)

Leave a Reply

