Second Week of Advent 2011 – Tuesday – Feast of St Nicholas

Possum is 5 years 7 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 5 months

Little Princess is 11 months

 

IMG_2068

Waking up to Gold Chocolate Coins!  Happy St Nicholas Day!

Today the Countdown to Christmas Box contained some unusual things.  Things that looked like they belonged in the kitchen.  A packet of Speculaas Biscuits and a packet of marzipan.  Strange, wasn’t it?

Well, being the feast of St Nicholas, we went for a few Dutch treats.

I know I probably could make the Speculaas Biscuits, but our supermarket sells some really yummy ones in the specialty foods section.  And they are even printed with Dutch-style pictures (think windmills and girls in clogs, not Rembrandt.)  I love these, so I was pleased to be able to treat us to a pack today.

Links: Speculaas Spice Mix                     A little about Speculaas

The marzipan was for Letterbanket.  These are very yummy, even if you make them the complete-cheat way that we do.  I am sure that in Holland they have a much more involved recipe than what we do, but this works for us.

I first heard about Letterbanket as a child reading this book:

image

(My sister bought me this book one year so that I would finally return her book about Christmas around the World.  I have been fascinated about other cultures and celebrating events throughout the year for as long as I can remember.)

image

 

 

 

And when searching for a link for “Letterbanket” I stumbled across this, which is scan of the page from the book!

 

 

 

Anyway, here are some of our endeavours.

IMG_2080 Two gorgeous little chefs, reporting for duty.  (This was a hard photo to take because they were both fighting to stand on the blue chair.  Notice the teddy bear and the shark in Bandicoot’s pocket?)

IMG_2092 Yes, okay, you noticed.  Unless all our names start with the letter “I” (they don’t – none of them do), this isn’t exactly Letterbanket.  Maybe we should have called them Sausagebanket instead!  Either way, they are delicious.

So, would you like to make some?  It is really very easy.

  • Firstly, take your marzipan and roll it into sausages about the width of your thumb.
  • Wrap this in puff pastry (also store-bought)
  • Seal and glaze with a beaten egg
  • Sprinkle with sugar
  • Bake at about 220oC until golden and puffy

Oh, so yummy, I might just sneak anothery.

And seeing as we were all in the kitchen, we tried another recipe.  I hadn’t made these before, but it was written on the same sheet as a favourite of mine.  I think they look lovely and festive.

(Bandicoot has his mouth full there, trying not to show he has been gobbling biscuits!)

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

