Second Week of Advent 2011 – Saturday

Possum is 5 years 7 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 5 months

Little Princess is 11 months

Allsorts of good things amongst the chaos today, and isn’t that just what real life is all about?

The kids went with Daddy to the Hardware Shop today.  When they got there they discovered a craft workshop and they came home with these:

Aren’t they great?

Here is how you would make them, if you would like to give it a whirl.

You need a polystyrene cone for the tree.  It is covered in red or green contact. (Or painted.)

Wrap double-sided tape around the tree like tinsel.

Stick wrapped lollies onto the tape as decorations.  Add glitter or other embellishments if you would like.

Stick a toothpick into a polystyrene star.  Paint the star with glue and cover with glitter.  Stick the other end of the star into top of the tree.

Be sure to bring it home and proudly show it to Mummy.

I am linking this idea to:    image

 

Remember our lovely candy cane plants?  Well these have resulted in much munching of candy canes.  It also resulted in one almost complete one sitting on DH’s bedside table (NOT left there by DH, I might add.) 

This morning Little Princess had popped by for (yet another) feed from Mummy (I am so glad that I have finally mastered breastfeeding lying down!).  After her snack, she sat up and something caught her eye.  I figured that it was the trains, also on the bedside table (also not left there by DH).  No, that wasn’t it.  She had such a sparkle in her eye.  It was the candy cane!

Ah well, I thought.  An 11 month old won’t like peppermint so let her have a lick.

IMG_2134IMG_2132 IMG_2133

Yup, it’s true.  This 11 month old didn’t like the candy cane – she LOVED it!  She ate the entire thing and enjoyed every last bit.

(Gosh, she is so cute at the moment.)

 

And as for the Countdown to Christmas box… well, this didn’t actually make it into the box, because I slipped it to the kids:

I had intended to set it up on a straight track on our front window sill, sitting the tracks on some wadding so that they looked like they were in the snow.  However, Bandicoot was setting up a train track this morning and just begging for anyone to play with him (to no avail) so I popped these trains on the tracks.

Fair to say, “Winner”.

Tonight we had planned to go Carols in the Park.  I just really wasn’t up to it.  I didn’t fancy trying to manage three kids on a picnic rug, on wet ground.  We usually have a lovely time when we are there, but I just couldn’t cope with the logistics of it.  It isn’t helped that the really local one (the one we can walk to) isn’t on this year, so we were going to have to go to the much bigger one in the next suburb.  (Actually the next-next suburb.)

Fortunately, we hadn’t told the kids about it.

Instead we had our planned dinner at home.  The marinated chicken drumsticks were such a hit with the kids that they have asked if I will please make them again.  (I marinated them in Coca Cola, garlic and ginger for about three days.)  Of course, DH and I are still not that keen on them – too fatty for us – but I bet I can work something for them again.

 

We also decided to do a family movie night.  This is something that I have heard of many families doing, but have never been able to convince mine to try.  Oh we had a lovely time!

I restocked the box while the kids were in the bath:

IMG_2145 Something for everyone!

We watched Red Boots for Christmas first.  We all enjoyed that one.  Possum kept saying, “That was a really nice show”.  (Here is a link to the “Red Boots” website.)

Little Shepherd was good, but it was a little too forced for my liking.  I guess that it had to be to fit all the story into the time frame and to make it accessible to the younger audience.  (I do, however, want to grow-up to be like Joel’s grandfather.)

At the end, we started to watch the Dora Christmas Carol (again), but the kids got too tired, so we cut our losses and plonked them into bed.

 

I wonder if DH and I will have time to curl up on the lounge and watch something over a cuppa (and perhaps a piece of stollen) now?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

