Why I Blog

Do you ever wonder why I blog?  Sometimes I do.

I started this blog with no real idea why.  I read blogs, but I wondered who would write them.  Who would spill such details of their lives out into the public domain?  Was it a need to expose?  Or was it manufactured?

I started by asking some friends of mine who blog.  They had various reasons, but none of them seemed to suit me.  For me, it was a curious itch that wouldn’t go away, an itch that I needed to scratch.

And so I started.

If you have read much of this blog, you will know that it has no clear direction or focus.  Instead it meanders and morphs, flowing from this idea or season to that; much like the life of a mother of small children!  At first I thought it terribly disjointed, but I can now see it a bit bigger than that, it is what I first called it, A Day in the Life of a Career Mum.  And, as all you Career Mums out there know, our days can be filled with the small things like preparing 47 snacks, or with big things like sick kids, or with exciting outings and events or pondering big issues – as well as so many other things.  And on some days, the things that are on my mind will even coincide with the things on yours.

But that isn’t really why I blog (even though it is an interesting reason.)

For a while, I used this blog purely as a log of homeschool tasks.  We were doing quite a bit of homeschool preschooling at the time, and I needed to keep a record in case we were audited.  It was also a great way to keep our ideas together.

But I felt the need to write about other things – that itch again.  And over time we have decided not to formally homeschool for the present.  I still love keeping a record of our activities that fall into that kind of thing and I love being able to share them with others – so much of my inspiration has come from other mums.  But there is more.

I love to write.  I have always loved to write.  When I was in Kindergarten, I loved to write and my best friend loved to draw.  We decided that we would write books together when we grew up.  Unfortunately, that plan fell apart somewhere.  I believe she ended up as a hairdresser.  And me… well, career hasn’t been a straight path for me!

My favourite years at school were ones where I got to do lots of writing.  I particularly recall Years 4 and 6, and I still have a box of stories that I wrote then.  In high school, apart from a couple of times when I had a English teacher who loved poetry, the only thing that kept me alive in that subject was creative writing – 15% of the total mark.  I used to even write novels for my friends for their birthdays!  Alas, it was pre-computers, so I gave the originals away.

And then I studied Engineering.  Once more I have to say, “What was I thinking??”

I ventured into a different kind of writing, keeping diaries.  Myriads of them.

I have never had the confidence to become a writer.  I am a perfectionist and I also fear the judgement of those I know.  My cousin is a writer.  A very good writer.  He has won a Booker Prize (amongst other things).  I don’t enjoy his writing, but he is certainly successful.  And being a perfectionist, that is the yardstick I would measure myself against.  Silly, isn’t it?

But I have now found, that with my blog, I can write.  I can write a little and share a little, and if people don’t like it, they don’t read it.  No one gets hurt.

(Yes, I know that my writing isn’t exactly Booker Prize winning standard, but that doesn’t matter, either.)

I have also re-discovered that happy feeling inside that I get when I write.  A sort of warm, fuzzy, contentedness.

This year, I would like to write more.  I would like to be a little more organised on my blog, while still maintaining some of that eclectic-ness that makes me who I am.

Maybe one day I will be a professional writer.  Or maybe I won’t.  But right now, I like to write my blog.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

