Gado Gado

Possum is 5 years 8 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 6 months

Little Princess is 1 year

 

Now I have mentioned before that I am a breastfeeder.  Possum fed to the age of 20 months (4 months shy of my goal – I stopped because of morning sickness and it was a pretty traumatic thing for both of us).  Bandicoot I am hoping will wean before he gets married.  Little Possum is still going of course, too.

Now, in the olden days, when Possum was a baby, they told us not to eat peanuts while we were pregnant or breastfeeding a less than 1yo.  They don’t say that now, but it worked for him so I still do it.

Recently, Little Princess hit that magic 1 year mark.

And last night we went out for Malaysian.

Malaysian is not my favourite cuisine, which is a bit of a strange thing, as I really enjoy most South East Asian food (I live in Australia, if I didn’t, then I would starve!).  In fact, I strongly believe that you should only go to Singapore for a stop-over and not a holiday or you will eat so much the plane will never take off.  But Malaysian slightly misses the mark for me.

Not so for DH.

And I do have some favourite dishes, but mostly they have been off the menu for most of the last 6+ years.

But not any more!

The food was really nice.  It was fresh and plentiful and full of flavour (even if I find it a little too earthy).  Even Little Princess was happily hoeing into the Beef Rendang.

But for me, the highlight was Gado Gado.  A salad of sprouts, cucumber, eggs, lettuce, shallots, anchovy in a mildly spiced peanut sauce.  What’s not to like?  Except I didn’t like it.  I LOVED it!  Really, it was amazing.  I would have loved to have climbed up on that table and rolled around in it, it was that good.

And did I mention peanut sauce?  Oh YUMMO.

I’m back!

 

And for those of you that are cycling fans, on way home, I took the boys to the gelato shop to grab a take-away.  I have to admit that they looked like street urchins by this stage – dirty from head to toe, dishevelled and, in the case of Bandicoot, barefoot.  They got their ice-creams and wandered towards the door of the crowded shop without looking (as kids do) and straight into the Lotto-Belisol team.  I mean, literally, straight into them.  Marcel Sieberg patted Bandicoot on the head with an affectionate grin as Bandicoot tottered past, totally fixed on his gelato.  Wow.  (Vicente Reynes and Adam Hansen were there, too, amongst others.  Real people that like gelato on a hot day.  Freaky stuff!)

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

