Wibble Wobble

Possum is 5 years 8 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 6 months

Little Princess is 1 year

Can you guess what my little Possum is doing?

IMG_3357

Yup.  He has a loose tooth!  Actually, he has two loose teeth, but one is looser than the other.

It is exciting and fascinating and (apparently) painful.  It is really annoying when one of your favourite things to eat is apples.  We have had lots of tears when he can’t eat things that he would really like to eat.

It is funny.  Possum is wobbling the two teeth at the front on the bottom jaw.  These are still the only two teeth that Little Princess has!  (And, something I have always wondered about, yes the one that is loosest is the one that he grew first.)

In one way I am feeling a bit sad – there he is, growing up even more.  In another I am excited (a loose tooth!  I remember how excited I was when I got my first one, at about the same age.)  But I am also relieved.

I read once that in many cultures, children are not allowed to start school until they start getting their grown-up teeth.  I have a real issue with the institutionalisation of children in our society, and personally feel that 7 is the age they should start school.  However, Possum will be starting school in a few weeks, the oldest he can as per the law in our state, and, it seemed, with no signs on the tooth front.  But here it is, and somehow it just makes me feel a little better.

So now we have a few questions:

Why does it have to hurt when you are getting your new teeth?

Does the tooth fairy come and put your grown-up teeth in?

I love my Possum!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

