TDU Stage 3

Possum is 5 years 8 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 6 months

Little Princess is 1 year

 

This morning we all went to the start of the Stage, again.  The kids were horrified when they discovered that we were heading to the bike race, but we assured them that it wouldn’t take so long this time.

And indeed, it did run much more smoothly.  We had worked out from previous days that although the main roads were closed off, it is quite easy to get parking in the side streets (and certainly much easier than the forced march of Stage 1).  So today we drove.

The cyclist-fans were also much more sensible today, doing really smart things like walking their bikes through the crowd instead of trying to ride them through.

AND we managed to get there much earlier, although not early enough for the goodies that are handed out by the caravan.  We thought we would manage that by going up the road a little so we could collect loot when the caravan took off.  Unfortunately, they were unable to hand anything out in that zone, so that was very disappointing.  Tomorrow….

I did however get to see Brad McGee (*hero*).  In fact, not only did I get to see him, but he came over to the barrier and posed for a photo with me and Bandicoot.  Want to see it?

Here it is:

I’m the one on the left.

Oh, what, you can’t see it?  Yes, well, sadly, either Mr Kind General Public Man who took the photo for me didn’t quite get it, or the camera was mucking up again.  Either way, we don’t have it.

So I took a couple of other shots of him, by which stage I was starting to feel like a stalker (he had just posed for a photo with me and there I was taking more…)

 IMG_3486IMG_3487IMG_3489

Well, Brad McGee (*hero*) might have added some serious eye-candy to the field in years gone by, and he might have been a talented athlete, and now a talented Sports Directif, but I found another bloke there who was delighted to have some photos with me, too, and really, I think this one is even more wonderful:

IMG_3499                                         IMG_3504

 IMG_3505 IMG_3507   

IMG_3511 IMG_3512 IMG_3513 IMG_3514 IMG_3515   IMG_3518    IMG_3522     

IMG_3501    IMG_3497

 

Then in a strange twist of celebrity fortune:

Yesterday, Bandicoot lost his hat in the crowd (the one he is wearing in the photos above is the Saxo Bank Team hat that Brad McGee (*hero*) gave him.)  I had previously seen Bandicoot’s (old) hat for sale at a stall in the TDU cycling village in town, so today I decided to go up and get him one.

As I was walking past the hotel wear the teams stay (it is just around the corner from us, and across the road from the Village) who should walk out but Eddie Mercx!  I have been trying all week to get a decent photo of him, but have not been able to manage it.  I thought that I could just snap one, but that that was not very nice, so I asked him if I could quickly snap one (poor bloke was running late for an engagement from what I could gather).  And what do you know, Mr Joe Blow General Public jumped up and offered to take one for me, so here that one is:

IMG_3530

Much better when the camera works, isn’t it?  Pity I was dishevelled and dirty-haired at this stage (I had been working to do the washing and pack up the house and had really just ducked out for bread.  Oh well!)

 

 

I am linking this post to Emily over at The Anderson Crew for

Now you pop on over and check it out.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

