Autumn Duck?

Possum is 5 years 9 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 7 months

Little Princess is 1 year 1 month (13 months)

Today, I am feeling old.  I have been to the doctor and received some news.  It is news that I have always known would come one day, and lately I have been suspecting, but I still didn’t want to the be told.

I have arthritis.

I have arthritis in one of my toes at this stage, but I am sure I will end up with it in most of my feet (as in most of each foot, as opposed to me actually having seventeen feet and getting arthritis in sixteen of them!)

So how did I know this would happen?

I studied ballet.  I did a lot of ballet.  At the time I had a number of injuries, as with any relatively elite athlete.  However, the biggest issue, I believe was that I went onto pointe about a year too soon.  I had the muscle strength, but not the bone strength.

image 

Of course, if I were to do it again, would I do it differently?  Uh-uh.  Nope.  Nada.  Unless it involved doing MORE dancing. ~shrug~ What’s a girl to do?

It is interesting to note that I am approximately retirement age for a professional ballet dancer.  They tend to retire due to a combination of injury and gradually decreasing energy levels.  I certainly fit that bill.

So I guess I am off to try glucosamine and hope, that what my doctor said is right – the advantage of getting arthritis so young is that there is a better chance joint replacements will improve in my life time!  Hmm.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Autumn Duck?”

  1. Sam-O Says:

    My arthritis is in my fingers and is from pulling beers in my Uni days!!

Leave a Reply

