First Week of Lent – Pretzels

Possum is 5 years 9 months

Bandicoot is 3 years and 7 months

Little Princess is 1 year and 1 month (13 months)

IMG_3894

Recently I stumbled across some interesting information.  Apparently pretzels are traditionally Lenten food.  The shape is meant to imitate arms crossed in prayer and traditionally there isn’t too much exciting in the recipe, so they made good fasting food (not sure about the stick of butter used to glaze them, ‘though!)

So I decided in lieu of some of the goodies my team of scavengers devour in the afternoons, I would bake pretzels.

I have two recipes that I would like to try, but I went for this one first:

~tantalizing link to pretzel recipe~

I did go for the half and half flour option and I used instant yeast.

They were actually very easy to make.  (But then, I am rarely intimidated by baking.)  As always, the hardest thing was finding the time – after the dough had proved and I started rolling and shaping Little Princess decided she needed a feed NOW.  *sigh*

I also sort of followed the instructions on the second recipe for the shaping.

~tantalizing link to second pretzel recipe~

And the result?

Well, I was slightly alarmed at the day-glow orangey-brown colour they turned in the oven.  I can only assume that is something to do with the soda.  However, post glazing and salting:

 IMG_3893

And truly, YUMMO!  If this is fasting I wish Lent went all year round!  (Actually, the biggest problem is that it is still Lent and I want to eat them all.)

Oh, and just a tip that you may not need, but remember if you melt the butter in the microwave the container will probably get hot:

IMG_3895

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

