Purim 2012

Possum is 5 years 10 months

Bandicoot is 3 years 8 months

Little Princess is 1 year 2 months (14 months)

 

Today is the Biblical Feast of Purim.  It is the celebration of the deliverance of God’s People from the hands of the evil Haman.

I love this feast.  I find the story fascinating and inspiring.  Really, they could make a modern book or movie of it and it would get audiences in.  Of course, no need for that.  It is right there in the Book of Esther.

This year I read the story from “the oral tradition handed down through the sages” on www.chabad.org – it has details not recorded on the Megillah/in the Bible Book.  It is a really fascinating story – so full of intrigue, with so many twists and turns.  I really enjoyed the read.

I will read it again from the Bible tonight.

We also have a few other ways to experience the story around here.  Of course, we have this gem:

imageNothing like the threat of being sent to the Island of Perpetual Tickling!

We also have this little book that Little Princess was given at her Baptism:

imageIt is really beautiful.  It is a word book – a concept book about the story of Esther!

 

And finally, this year I found this one:

imageI thought with a learning-to-reader in the house and two more to follow, we might get some use out of it.

 

One of the mitzvahs of Purim is to feast.  However, this is the middle of Lent, and I have enough trouble engaging DH in festivals he knows about, let alone new ones.  It the past I have made hamantashen and I fully intended to do so again today (pity they are only for Purim, because they really are SO good).  It was, however, one of those days, so there are none for tonight.  I also decided to cook up a Persian dinner.  It went a bit pear-shaped when I discovered that the ingredients I thought I had, I didn’t have, and, worse still, forgot Bandicoot had a swimming lesson tonight.  I have made this

~~tantalising link to yummy Persian chicken dish~~

but whether or not it gets eaten will be an entirely different matter.

Either way, it is a feast worth remembering.  Each year I add a little more to our celebrations of the Feast.  Each year the kids understand a little more.

 

Happy Purim!!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

