I’m a Pout Pout Fish

‘I’m a Pout Pout fish, with a pout-pout face

and I spread the dreary wearies all over the place…

Blub, Bluuub, Bluuuuuuuubbbb!’

image image

Possum is 6 years

Bandicoot is 3 years and 10 months

Little Princess is 1 year and 2 months (16 months)

I love this book.  I thought it looked cute when I saw it in the Aquarium bookshop, but it took me a few visits before I handed over the money for it.  (DH seems to think I have a bit of a book problem.  I don’t know… just because I would love to have a library in our home with wall to ceiling compacter shelves for storing my favourites…)

Anyway, eventually I did.  And I am glad I did.  It is really a wonderful book for me just now.

In this story, the poor Pout-Pout fish is a bit of a misery-guts.  All his friends offer the kind of trite advice that people give you when you are depressed, but just makes you feel worse.  Until…

Along comes a special fish that gives him a kiss and no advice.

And he feels so much better.

It is all done with beautiful pictures and with gorgeous rhymes and in such a warm manner.  I love it.  And the boys love it when I do my special Pout-Pout Fish voice when I am reading it, too.

image

It is nice to remind myself when I am having a really bad day (too many of those just now!) that I am not really a Pout Pout Fish, I am a Kiss-Kiss Fish in need of a bit of gentleness.

Thanks, Mr Fish!

image

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “I’m a Pout Pout Fish”

  1. Debbie Diesen Says:

    Thank you for your kind words about The Pout-Pout Fish! I’m very glad you and your family enjoy the story. My best to all of you!

    Best Fishes,
    Debbie Diesen (author of The Pout-Pout Fish)

Leave a Reply

