Playdough!

Possum is 6 years 1 month

Bandicoot is 3 years 11 months

Little Princess is 1 year 5 months (17 months)

 

Today, we made playdough. 

We haven’t had playdough for a long time.  I like to think that I swap the toys around a bit (but really, it is just a theory and I hardly ever do – oops!)  However, a while ago I realised that, while they still played with the playdough frequently, they didn’t really care for it much.

And so I let the supply run out without replacement and packed the playdough playstuff up out of reach.  Still within sight (my mistake, combined with a lack of suitable storage for such things.)

The begging for playdough has been going on for a little while now, off and on, but this last week or so, it has got more insistent.  When Bandicoot begged me to at least get down the playdough things (the cutters etc) and let him play with those, I felt the time had come.

We were planning a home day, anyway.

I was going to make blue playdough, as blue is his favourite colour, but he asked for pink instead.

And so we have beautiful pink playdough.  I use this recipe here.  I also love the idea from Counting Coconuts of adding scents, so we added rosewater today.

And, just to make things easier, I experimented with using the dough hook on my lovely, new kitchen mixer.  It certainly saved burning my hands, and it ended up being wonderfully smooth.

Poor, deprived Little Princess.  It was her first playdough experience, and she wasn’t sure what to make of it, much to Bandicoot’s amusement.  I am not sure that she was totally impressed once she found out it wasn’t for eating!

Bandicoot, on the other hand, played for hours.

IMG_4877Tyrannosaurus Rex as made by Bandicoot.  He told me it was vicious, but I thought it was just too cute for words.

And when Possum got home from school, he exclaimed, “Aw!  Is that really new playdough?  Wow!  And it smells like lollies!”  He has been elbow deep in it ever since.

Sometimes it is nice to be a “good” mother.

Leave a Reply

