Year One!

Possum is 6 years 8 months

Bandicoot is 4 years 6 months

Little Princess is 2 years 1 month

IMG_7267IMG_7268IMG_7269IMG_7270

Homeschool officially started up for the year again today around here. Possum is in Year One!  Oh my, how grown up.

The day started poorly.  There were tears and locking of self in bedroom when reminded today was the day.  And that wasn’t even me!  Although, to be fair, I couldn’t go to sleep last night because I was so worried in anticipation and wishing school holidays could last forever.  Apparently they can’t.

Once a more subdued Possum returned (probably helped along by the despatch of Bandicoot to preschool), we got underway.  We are starting slowly this year for a number of reasons.

Firstly, it is the return to school after the holidays.  Possum is not writing his PhD thesis this week.  We’ll work up to that.

Secondly, I am finding my feet.  I have some great curricula to help me along this year.  What I need to do is to learn to trust them.  I also need to work out how to fit them all together in a way that works for us.

As well as this, or as part of it, I am not sure which, I am working through a few different educational philosophies.  I am melding some ideas from Charlotte Mason and from Oak Meadow (Waldorf inspired) and trying not to push Possum too much academically, even though he is very clever.  For me it is a delicate balancing act.  I am trying to work out how to let him be a kid, feed his brain and honour him all without burning him out.  Or me.

IMG_7271

At any rate, we jumped in today and got going.  It wasn’t as awful as either of us thought it would be.  Just as well – we are both pretty imaginative!

Now we have the rest of the day to ponder the rain, the washing pile and try not to go stir crazy.

Oh and fix dinner.  Must remember to fix dinner.  Apparently the family will be expecting it again tonight.

IMG_7272

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

