Spy Wednesday

Possum is 5 years and 11 months

Bandicoot is 3 years and 9 months (Good grief!  He is growing up too fast!)

Little Princess is 1 year and 3 months (15 months)

Yesterday was Spy Wednesday.  If you would like to know more about how this day gets its name, here is a neat explanation.

To celebrate – er, maybe commemorate is a better word – the day, we read the story of Judas from one of our favourite Easter Children’s Bibles:

CCF06042012_00000(This book is Jillian Harker and illustrated by Jane Swift.  I haven’t been able to find it in print anywhere (Paragon), but Amazon do have a few second hand ones listed.)

We also baked Judases.  Well, I baked them.

IMG_4207

I think it would be fair to say that these are definitely NOT Passover friendly:  I thought that the amount of yeast in the recipe had to be a typo!  (No kneading, either.  Very unusual.)  Still, I went with it and I ended up with some lovely, lovely, light, sweet bread.

I did substitute orange zest for the lemon zest as my lemons seem to have disappeared.  They tasted *so*good* that I think I might modify my recipe to use orange in the future.

Apart from the whole Passover/yeast thing (and, if you are Orthodox, the egg, milk and butter thing), I really am left to wonder:  how can food that tastes this decadently good be fasting food?  Not all bad, is it!

Oh, and here is what you are hanging out for:

~~tantalising recipe link~~

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment